David Pierce Receives Robert L. Gernon Award

David E. Pierce, Topeka, Kansas, has been selected by the Kansas Continuing Legal Education Commission as the recipient of the 2017 Robert L. Gernon Award for Outstanding Service to Continuing Legal Education in Kansas. David E. Pierce is a Professor of Law at Washburn University School of Law in Topeka, Kansas. He currently teaches Oil and Gas Law, Advanced Oil and Gas Law, Energy Regulation, and Drafting Contracts and Conveyances. Professor Pierce received his B.A. from Kansas State College of Pittsburg in 1974 and his J.D. from Washburn University School of Law in 1977. Then in 1982, he received his LL.M. from University of Utah College of Law. He began his career as a solo practitioner in Neodesha, Kansas. He then worked in-house for Shell Oil Company in Houston Texas, Gable and Gotwals law firm in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and Shughart Thomson and Kilroy law firm in Kansas City, Missouri. Professor Pierce was nominated by John W. Broomes of the Hinkle Law Firm, LLC, and Timothy E. McKee of the firm, Triplett Woolf Garretson, LLC. In their nomination letter, McKee and Broomes highlight the impact that Professor Pierce has had on the legal profession. "He has devoted innumerable hours to preparing and delivering continuing legal education through the Kansas Bar Association, The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation, the Energy and Mineral Law Foundation, Washburn University School of Law and many other schools and institutions." The nomination package submitted for Professor Pierce supports this statement by including over 20 pages of publications, articles, and presentations where Professor Pierce has devoted his time and energy into educating groups about Oil, Gas, and Mineral Law. Justice Robert Gernon worked tirelessly to improve the training, education and professionalism of attorneys in Kansas and across the nation. Professor Pierce is an outstanding representation of what it means to be a recipient of the Gernon award. On both a professional and personal level, Professor Pierce is viewed with utmost respect and affection by his peers, colleagues, and especially his former students. This was evident when the award was presented on October 6 in Wichita, Kansas, at the Kansas Bar Association luncheon during the annual Kansas Independent Oil and Gas Association meeting. Professor Pierce is a past president of the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation and a member of the Kansas Bar Association and American Law Institute. Established in 2005 and presented annually by the Kansas Continuing Legal Education Commission, the Robert L. Gernon Award for Outstanding Service to Continuing Legal Education in Kansas recognizes those individuals or organizations that have demonstrated a unique commitment to legal education for lawyers in Kansas and have provided outstanding service to continuing legal education. The award is named for Kansas Supreme Court Justice Robert L. Gernon (1943 - 2005), whose career included tireless devotion to the training, education and professionalism of attorneys in Kansas and across the nation. Previous award recipients include: 2016 - Foulston Siefkin, LLP; 2015 - Jan Hamilton, Topeka; 2014 - Steve Obermeier, Olathe; 2013 - Robert Collins, Wichita; 2012 - Cynthia Grimes, Lenexa; 2011 - J. Nick Badgerow, Overland Park; 2010 - Jack Scott McInteer, Wichita; 2009 - Mira Mdivani, Overland Park; 2008 - Sheila Reynolds, Topeka; 2007 - Hon. Robert J. Schmisseur, Pratt; 2006 - Philip Bowman, Wichita
Press Release


The Trustees of the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation are pleased to announce the election of the following Officers, Members-at-Large of the Board of Directors, and Trustees-at-Large for 2017-2018. These complement the trustees appointed by the Foundation's Constituent Law Schools, Bar Associations, and Oil and Gas and Mining Associations. OFFICERS, 2017-2018 President: Michael J. Malmquist, Parsons Behle and Latimer, Salt Lake City, UT Vice President: William B. Prince, Dorsey and Whitney LLP, Salt Lake City, UT Secretary: Rebecca W. Watson, Welborn Sullivan Meck and Tooley, P.C., Denver, CO Treasurer: Rachael E. Salcido, University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law, Sacramento, CA BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEMBERS-AT-LARGE, 2017-2018 Rob Risley, Freeport-McMoRan Inc., Phoenix, AZ Sandra B. Zellmer, University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Law, Lincoln, NE Ann E. Lane, WPX Energy, Inc., Denver, CO Khaled Abdel Barr, Lawson Lundell LLP, Vancouver, BC Hadassah M. Reimer, Holland and Hart LLP, Jackson, WY Neil G. Westesen, Crowley Fleck PLLP, Bozeman, MT HONORARY TRUSTEE Jacqueline L. Weaver, University of Houston Law Center, Houston, TX, retired TRUSTEES-AT-LARGE, 201