A Guide to ONRR Data Mining Requests for Lessees

  • a Virtual Setting
  • Tuesday, December 15, 2020

A Guide to ONRR Data Mining Requests for Lessees

December 15, 2020 at 9am PST, 10am MST, 11am CST, 12pm EST
 


Since the Office of Natural Resources Revenue (ONRR) October 1 deadline, most federal lessees have converted to processed gas reporting to meet that deadline and have encountered data mining requests from ONRR. These data mining requests are one the most difficult tasks that federal oil and gas lessees have to deal with. The requests compare the volumes reported on the product report (the “OGOR”) to the volumes reported on the royalty report (Form ONRR-2014). When they do not match, a payor receives a data mining request from ONRR and has a very short time to respond. 

It can be very difficult to figure out the problem, particularly in situations in which ONRR is comparing the production report volume to a processed gas royalty report which is in different units of measure (not wellhead mcfs). ONRR’s data mining tool can only approximate the equivalent wellhead Mcf volume for data mining purposes and yet payors are supposed to reconcile any variance that is based on this approximation.

Our expert speaker will guide attendees through ONRR data mining requests and provide helpful advice on how to determine the problems and appropriately respond to requests. 

JUDITH M. MATLOCK, Partner, Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP, Denver, CO 

AMANDA C. MARTINEZ, Manager, Compliance Management Team A of the Office of Natural Resources Revenue

 1.5 HOURS OF CLE AVAILABLE!