RMMLF Mining CLE and Virtual Reception (during PDAC): The Rise of the Socially Conscious Investor in the Resource Sector

  • a Virtual Setting
  • Tuesday, March 9, 2021

RMMLF Mining CLE and Virtual Reception (during PDAC): The Rise of the Socially Conscious Investor in the Resource Sector

Tuesday, March 9, 2021 at 12:00pm PST, 1:00pm MST, 2:00pm CST, 3:00pm EST for 1.5 hours 
60-minute Virtual Reception to follow presentation from 4:30pm – 5:30pm EST
 


The rise of socially conscious investors is not merely an altruistic trend. With increased accountability and liability for resource companies associated with environmental, human rights and governance matters, companies that fail to deliver value beyond compliance face increased legal risk as well as financial and reputational consequences. Without increased focus on ESG, resource projects will not reach the social acceptance that is required to become sustainable, and resource companies will not be able to deliver value to their shareholders. 

This presentation will consider what issues investors are increasingly focusing on in making a decision to invest in resource companies, and what resource companies should be doing to attract socially conscious investors.

 Speakers:

OSCAR BENAVIDES (moderator), Partner, Rodrigo, Elias & Medrano Abogados, Lima, Peru
CARLOS CASTRO, Manager of Corporate Affairs and Business Development, Las Bambas Mine Operated by MMG, Lima, Peru 
SUSAN JOYCE, President – Senior Social and Human Rights Specialist, On Common Ground Consultants, Inc., Vancouver, Canada
MONICA OSPINA, Founder and Director, O Trade, Toronto, Canada
ELIZABETH STEYN, Cassels Brock Fellow and Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, Western University, Ontario, Canada 

Complimentary Registration! 
90 minutes of CLE/CPE credit will be applied for.