Deadlines for 2019-2020 Academic Year

Scholarships:  February 28, 2019 (JD students)   March 15, 2019 (LLM/SJD students) 

Download the application form (in Word or PDF format). The 2019-2020 application is now available.

The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation has two Scholarship Programs: the Joe Rudd Scholarships, established in 1979 in honor of a prominent natural resources attorney in Alaska; and the RMMLF Scholarships, established in 1993. One RMMLF Scholarship award is the David P. Phillips Scholarship, named in honor of the Foundation’s Executive Director who retired in 2012 after leading the Foundation for 42 years. To date, 550 scholarships have been awarded, totaling almost $3 million. 

New for the 2019-20 academic year - Frances Hartogh Diversity Outreach Scholarship (FHDOS) Award:  In addition to the Joe Rudd and RMMLF tuition-only Scholarships, eligible students may apply for the FHDOS award, which can be used for funding the applicant’s living expenses – see the Scholarships application form for more information. “Race, Ethnicity, and Natural Resources in the United States: A Review,” by John Schelhas, may be viewed here.) 


A law student who is enrolled full time at one of the Foundation’s Constituent Law Schools and can demonstrate a commitment to the study of natural resources law is eligible to apply. LLM students and incoming 1Ls who have applied to one of these schools but have not yet been accepted may also apply.

Scholarship Amounts

Fall, spring, and full-year scholarships may cover partial or full tuition. Recent awards have ranged from $1,000 to $10,500. Tuition scholarships must be used at, and will be paid directly to, one of the Constituent Law Schools.

Award Process

Applications are evaluated and awards are made by the Foundation’s Scholarships Committee according to the following criteria:

  • Potential to make a significant contribution to the field of natural resources law
  • Academic ability
  • Leadership ability
  • Year in law school
  • Financial need

Application Process

Download the application form (in Word or PDF format). Please email the complete application form and supporting documents to

Application Deadlines

The completed application form and supporting documents must be received by February 28 (JD students) and March 15 (LLM students).

2018-2019 Scholarship Recipients

Joe Rudd Scholarship Awards*

  • Moira Lavoie, University of Alberta

  • Margaret Pennell, Southern Methodist University

RMMLF Scholarship Awards*

  • Leandro Alves, University of Texas

  • Solomon Amoateng, University of Alberta

  • Chinonso Anozie, Southern Methodist University

  • Chantal Carriere, University of Houston

  • Rodrigo Cortes Araya, University of Denver

  • Bradley Cummings, University of Denver

  • Jacob Cunningham, Louisiana State University

  • Sydney Donovan, University of Denver

  • Ryan Gaddis, University of Tulsa

  • Kathryn Josephs, University of Calgary

  • Joseph Kmetz, University of Denver

  • Zachary Lass, University of Denver

  • Madeleine Lewis, University of Wyoming

  • Peter Mather, University of Arizona

  • Sancy Matschinga, University of Houston

  • Eniola Opasina, University of Texas

  • Bronson Pace, University of Idaho

  • Margaret Pennell, Southern Methodist University

  • Jeffrey Pike, Washburn University

  • Emily Ramage, University of North Dakota

  • Nicholas Rodriguez-Caballero, Florida State University

  • Joel Rose, University of Arizona

  • Paul Roybal, University of New Mexico

  • **Randi Rymut, University of Tulsa

  • Nicole Sanchez, University of New Mexico

  • Victoria Schmidt, University of Calgary

  • Noah Stanton, University of Colorado

  • Jake Winslett, Southern Methodist University

  • Tyler Wright, Southern Methodist University

  • Anji Yuan, University of Texas

* These tuition scholarships are awarded to students currently enrolled at RMMLF Constituent Law Schools, and are paid directly to the schools.

** David P. Phillips Scholarship Award

The Foundation congratulates the awardees and thanks all of the applicants for their interest and efforts!  

If you would like to support and/or learn more about the Foundation and its programs, contact the Foundation at 303-321-8100 or