An Introduction to

Wildlife Law and Development in the U.S. and Canada

Albuquerque, Anchorage, Boise, Calgary, Denver, Laramie, Missoula, Phoenix, Portland, Salt Lake City, Vancouver

A Video-Linked Workshop & Networking Event
Organized by the Young Professionals Committee of the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation

In 1916, the United States and Great Britain (on behalf of Canada) entered into a treaty protecting migratory birds. In the following 100 years, additional laws have been enacted in each country to protect wildlife, including the Endangered Species Act in the U.S., and the Species at Risk Act in Canada. This 60-minute video-linked CLE program, accompanied by a one-hour hosted networking event, will introduce lawyers and other natural resource professionals to the basics of federal wildlife protection laws in each country, including current issues (e.g., climate change under wildlife laws), criminal and civil liability, and project permitting. Using the grizzly bear, it will include a comparative case study on the implementation and practical effects of each country’s wildlife laws on development projects. All this, plus the opportunity to meet and network with peers, without extensive time and travel.

Complimentary refreshments will be served at the local networking events.

Not near one of the above metro areas? You can livestream the webinar from your desk.

Time Zones for Simulcast

1:00 - 2:00 pm Alaska
2:00 - 3:00 pm Pacific   
3:00 - 4:00 pm Mountain  
4:00 - 5:00 pm Central    
5:00 - 6:00 pm Eastern 

Continuing Education Credit

This course consists of 60 minutes of continuing education. The Foundation is a State Bar of California MCLE-approved provider. Credit will be applied for in each state and province where the Workshop is being broadcast.

Early-Bird Discount

Cutoff date for discounted registration fees:  October 16, 2018