The Ethics of Oil and Gas Lease Negotiation

  • An RMMLF Streaming Event
  • 12/5, 12PM AKST - 2PM MST - 3PM CST - 4PM EST
SIGN-UP FOR INSTITUTE AND COURSE UPDATES 

 

60 minute ethics presentation by Professor John Dzienkowski, followed by Question and Answer Session with the Speaker

Do attorneys and landmen have a duty of good faith and fair dealing in negotiating oil and gas leases? What must be offered before commencing a compulsory pooling action? Is it ethical to sell produced hydrocarbons in non-arms-length transactions? These questions and many others will be considered to guide oil and gas professionals on how to ethically negotiate a lease and prevent any disputes down the road, with references to the ABA Model Rules and the AAPL Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice.

Continuing Education Credit

This course consists of approximately 1 hour of ethics credit. We are applying for credit with AAPL, Colorado, and Texas. Attorneys may apply on their own for CLE in other jurisdictions.

Registration Fees

Includes electronic course materials. Registrations will be accepted only when accompanied by a check, money order, credit card information, or wiring information. No registrations can be processed without payment.

Registration Cancellations

Refunds, less a $10 administrative fee, will be given for cancellations received by 3:00pm on Thursday, November 21, 2019. No refunds will be given thereafter, although substitution of attendees may be made by contacting the Foundation. Cancellations must be made in writing or email to info@rmmlf.org. Registrants not entitled to a refund will receive a link to the written materials. 

Recording

Audio and video recording, streaming, or other types of live or stored dissemination are not permitted without express authorization from the Foundation.

Privacy

By entering your information and registering for this course, you consent and agree to receive communications from us as to our programs, products, and services and certain programs of our nonprofit partners, provided that you may opt out of receiving email notices at any time. You also consent to our providing your contact information to other course registrants on the course registration list, which may be used by course registrants to invite you to events held in connection with the course. If you are a member, you consent to our providing your contact information to other members. For a copy of our privacy policy, click here.